From the President, USAEE


Troy N. Thompson
Manager, Business Planning & Analytics
Chevron Corporation 
Houston, TX


The first half of the year has been an active one for USAEE and I want to highlight some of our activities at the Chapter level.  Most of our Association’s Chapters, including those student-led, actively meet on a regular basis and serve as a local forum for the discussion and exchange of ideas on energy economics.  To highlight a couple of events, in April, the Central Texas Chapter held a workshop on EPA’s proposed clean power plan rules, while our National Capital Area Chapter held their annual energy policy conference.  Both events were well received.  A few of our Chapters face some challenges that include establishing a base of membership over a wide geographic area, leadership development and securing speakers.  Efforts, led by our VP of Chapter Liaison, Peter Kobos, along with support from USAEE Council are underway to help nurture their growth.  Efforts include sending promotion material, highlighting Chapter activities in Dialogue, providing advice and guidance and identifying speakers through the use of our Distinguished Lecture Series (DLS) speakers.  DLS, created in 2012, is a USAEE sponsored program of peer-nominated thought leaders and recognized experts in their field who are known to be capable speakers.  DLS speakers for 2015 are Guy Caruso with CSIS and Kevin Forbes with Catholic University of America.

USAEE Council met on June 17.  Agenda items included reports from officers along with the Awards and Nomination Committees.  This year’s Nominating Committee was composed of Michael Canes (Chair), David Knapp, Maureen Lorenzetti, Jim Sweeney and Mine Yucel.  I want to express my thanks to the Committee for outstanding nominations. This year’s Awards Committee included Seth Blumsack, Carol Dahl, Mark McCarthy, Shirley Neff, and Lori Schell (Chair).  The 2015 Adelman-Frankel award jointly goes to Adam Sieminski and Howard Gruenspecht of EIA; the Senior Fellow awards go to Robert Borgstrom, Amy Jaffe, and Andrew Slaughter.  Award winners will be recognized at our annual meeting in Pittsburgh.  Thanks to the Awards Committee for their thoughtful and deserving selections.  Also at the June meeting, Council accepted the proposal from the Houston Chapter to host the 2017 USAEE annual meeting.    

Anticipation is building for our upcoming 33rd annual USAEE/IAEE North American Conference in Pittsburgh.  The Program Committee has done an excellent job and I know you will not want to miss out on an outstanding program.  If you have not already done so, please make plans to attend to hear and share your interest in energy economics along with catching up with old friends.  I look forward to seeing you in Pittsburgh!




Click to view a printable version of this article.